30 countries ban sale of all types of e-cigarettes

49 countries regulate sale or require marketing authorization prior to sale

4 countries prohibit sale of nicotine-containing e-cigarettes

6 countries do not have regulations on sale beyond age of majority purchase rules


Sale of all types of e-cigarettes is banned in 30 countries (Argentina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Colombia, Egypt, Gambia, India, Iran, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Mauritius, Mexico, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Panama, Qatar, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, and Uruguay).

In forty-nine countries, that permit the sale of e-cigarettes, there are regulations around sale such as marketing authorization requirement, cross-border sale restrictions/regulations, restrictions in venues where they can be sold, or other restrictions (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palau, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, United StatesVenezuela and Wales).

Four countries prohibit the sale of nicotine-containing e-cigarettes (Australia, Jamaica, Japan, and Switzerland). Israel prohibits sale of JUUL e-cigarettes that contain >20mg/mL of nicotine.

Six countries do not have regulations on sale beyond age of majority purchase rules (Costa RicaEcuador, Honduras, Republic of Korea, Togo and Viet Nam).